Announcement of Lundbeck Science Award

For the first Lundbeck Science Award, there are five applicants for clinical and two for basic research field. After the scoring from the Award Committee, we are pleased to announce that Prof Toshi A. Furukawa, M.D., Ph.D. and Prof Brian Dean, Ph.D. have won the first Lundbeck Science Award, for clinical and basic research field, respectively. Dr Furukawa is Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Promotion and Human Behavior, Professor of the Department of Clinical Epidemiology, Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine / School of Public Health, Kyoto, Japan. He has published more than 400 Peer-reviewed original research articles and his major research interest is in the field of mood disorders. Dr Dean is the Head of the Molecular Psychiatry Laboratory, the Florey Institute for Neuroscience and Mental Health, Parkville, Australia. He has published more than 250 Peer-reviewed original research articles and his major research interest is in the field of molecular abnormalities underpinning the pathophysiology of psychiatric disorders and new drug target of for treatment. Our President Kazutaka Ikeda will invite them to give a special lecture during AsCNP Congress Fukuoka.

Shih-Ku Lin, Chair, Lundbeck Science Award Committee